

Department of Labor and Workforce Development

LABOR STANDARDS AND SAFETY Wage and Hour Administration

1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113 Anchorage, Alaska 99504 Main: 907.269.4900 Fax: 907.269.4915

Public Construction Contractor Responsibilities Checklist

Before work starts:

	You must have a myAlaska login. If you do not have one, you can set up an account at
	https://my.alaska.gov/.
	Check your project's Notice of Award (NOA) for accuracy. The NOA is filed by the Contracting
	Agency and is located on MyAlaska under Services for Businesses. Click on "LSS-Online Filing
	Services" and then "Search Notice of Award."
	Write down the Department of Labor and Workforce Development project number ("AK DOL project number"). Make note of the bid and award dates.
	File your project's notice of work (NOW) by going to LSS-Online Filing Services and clicking "File Notice of Work".
	Pay the filing fee by going to LSS-Online Filing Services and selecting "Pay Filing Fees Electronically".
	• The filing fee is 1% of the contract amount, up to a maximum of \$5,000.
	Payment is only accepted electronically.
	Taymont to only accepted electronically.
While	work is going on:
	Pay the correct prevailing rates of pay.
	• The Department publishes the prevailing rates of pay in Laborer's & Mechanics' Minimum Rates of
	Pay (Pam 600). Pam 600 is published twice per year, in the Spring (usually on April 1st) and in
	the fall (usually September 1st.) The current issues of Pam 600 are located here:
	http://labor.state.ak.us/lss/pamp600.htm.
	• The prevailing rates of pay that apply to your project are in the issue of Pam 600 that was in effect at least 10 days before the final date for submission of bids for the contract. The final date
	for submission of bids is listed on the NOA.
	• The initial prevailing rates of pay "shall remain in effect for the life of the contract or for 24
	calendar months, whichever is shorter. At the end of the initial 24-month period, if new wage
	determinations have been issued by the department, the latest wage determination shall become
	effective for the next 24-month period or until the contract is completed, whichever occurs first.
	This process shall be repeated until the contract is completed." Alaska Statute 36.05.010
	File Certified Payroll Reports (CP) with Wage and Hour no later than the Friday of every second
	week.
	☐ Each CP must include the AK DOL project name and number, and must contain the
	following information for every worker:
	• Daily and weekly straight time, over time and fringe benefits hours worked; rate(s)
	of pay; domicile and mailing addresses; full social security number; classification

and classification code; certificate of fitness number (where applicable); truck license plate number (where applicable); union affiliation; complete check details, including gross amount, deductions, net amount, and check number or direct

deposit information.

• Apprentice percentage rate, if any apprentices are on the job. Apprentices must be properly registered in their craft with the USDOL Office of Apprenticeship, and must be working within the journeyman to apprentice ratio outlined in their apprenticeship standards. Unregistered or out of ratio apprentices are due the journeyman rate of pay for the classification of work they perform.

TE: you are required by law to submit all of the above information to Wage and Hour

NOTE: you are required by law to submit all of the above information to Wage and Hour. Federal requirements may differ, and contracting agencies may require CP with different information – you still must submit the above information to Alaska Wage and Hour.

- □ Submit the State of Alaska FORM 07-6058 Statement of Compliance (SOC) with an authorized signer's original signature. No other form will be accepted. The FORM 07-6058 SOC differs from the federal SOC and affirms that:
 - All persons performing work on the project(s) have been paid all of their wages earned, free and clear without rebates or kickbacks to the company;
 - All employees listed on this payroll have been paid an amount not less than the applicable basic hourly rate of pay for all hours worked (including overtime);
 - All fringe benefits have either been paid in full directly to the employee, or the fringes have been paid into approved plans, funds or programs;
 - Only lawful deductions have been made, and
 - Any and all apprentices have been properly registered with the US Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship.
- ☐ All contractors, subcontractor and owner operators who perform work on public construction contracts are required to submit all CP directly to the regional Wage and Hour office with jurisdiction over the project. It is the prime contractor's responsibility to ensure that each contractor employed on the project is aware of the prevailing wage and CP filing requirements.
- ☐ Because they contain sensitive information, CP can only be accepted by mail, by hand delivery, or online using the LSS-Online Filing Services "Upload/Submit Certified Payroll and Employee Lists" Application.

After work is complete:

- ☐ File a notice of completion by going to LSS-Online Filing Services and selecting "File Notice of Completion".
 - DOL&WD will check the project for compliance issues. When any issues are resolved, the department will authorize the contracting agency to release all remaining contract funds.
 - The department may not approve a Notice of Completion if any contractor, subcontractor or owner operator CP is missing or non-compliant. Failure by any contractor, subcontractor or owner operator to pay prevailing wages may result in monies being withheld from the prime contractor in accordance with AS 36.05.045(c)(2).