State of Alaska	Alaska Workers' Compensation Division			
Sean Parnell	PO Box 115512			
Governor	Juneau, Alaska 99811-5512			
Department of Labor and	BULLETIN		Number	Date
Workforce Development			10-01	January 27, 2010
Clark Bishop Commissioner	SUBJECT REFERENCE	Allowances For Transportation, Meals and Lodging While Traveling For Medical Treatment. 8 AAC 45.084		

Board regulation 8 AAC 45.084 describes medical travel expenses which are payable or reimbursable under the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act. Allowances for mileage (when using a private vehicle), meals and lodging are based on the rate the State of Alaska reimburses its supervisory employees.

Reimbursement for mileage when using a privately owned vehicle, effective January 1, 2010, shall be at the rate of \$.500 cents per mile.

Per diem for lodging is paid when the employee incurs expenses comparable to those arising from the use of good and moderately priced **commercial lodging establishments** catering to the general public. A reasonable amount for lodging must be paid by the employer if **substantiated by receipts** submitted by the employee.

The employee is also entitled to the following meal allowances when on travel status for at least three hours, during a listed period, if the expense is incurred (a) on the last day of travel status following a period when overnight lodging is obtained or (b) when on travel status for more than 10 continuous hours, but less than 24 hours when overnight lodging is not required.

Effective July1 1, 2007 through June 30, 2010, the per diem rates are as follows:

Time of Day	Meal Allotted	Monetary Allowance
Midnight to 10:00am	Breakfast	\$ 12.00
10:00am to 3:00pm	Lunch	16.00
3:00pm to Midnight	Dinner	32.00
	Total	\$60.00