# Workers' Compensation Board Meeting Minutes

October 29, 2015

#### Thursday, October 29, 2015

#### I. Call to order

Acting Workers' Compensation Director Amanda Eklund, Chair of the Alaska Workers' Compensation Board, called the Board to order at 9:02 am on Thursday, October 29, 2015, in Anchorage, Alaska.

#### II. Pledge of Allegiance

## III. Roll call

Acting Director Eklund conducted roll call. The following Board members were present:

Stacy Allen Brad Austin Pamela Cline
Chuck Collins Julie Duquette Jacob Howdeshell
Linda Hutchings David Kester Sarah Lefebvre
Ron Nalikak Amy Steele Mark Talbert
Rick Traini Pat Vollendorf Robert Weel

Lake Williams

Members Michael O'Connor, and Donna Phillips were absent. Quorum was established.

#### IV. Agenda Approval

The agenda was limited to consideration of adoption of an emergency regulation proposed by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

## V. Approval of Meeting Minutes

A motion to adopt the minutes from the September 17, 2015 regular Board Meeting was made by member Hutchings and seconded by member Talbert. The minutes were adopted without objection.

# VI. <u>Director's Report</u>

- 1. Acting Director Eklund reviewed current division staffing.
- 2. Approval of new Board designees.
  - a. New designees include Marie Marx (Director), Amanda Eklund (appointed Chief of Adjudications) and Grace Morfield (WC Officer I).
  - b. Member Hutchings moved that the Board approve the amended list of Board designees, which was seconded by member Collins. There was no additional discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

### VII. New Business

- 1. At the request of Commissioner Drygas, and pursuant to AS 44.62.220, the Board met to consider adoption of an emergency regulation proposed by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, 8 AAC 45.083 medical fee schedule.
- 2. The Board discussed and Member Traini called for the question. The motion to adopt 8 AAC 45.083 passed on an 14 to 1 vote, with members, Austin, Collins, Duquette, Howdeshell, Hutchings, Kester, Lefebvre, Nalikak, Steele, Talbert, Traini, Vollendorf, Weel and Williams voting in favor, members Cline voting against. Member Allen left the meeting prior to the vote.
- 3. Member Hutchings moved to adopt the amendments to: 8 AAC 45.020(c), 8 AAC 45.020, 8 AAC 45.032, 8 AAC 45.060(b), 8 AAC 45.550(c), 8 AAC 45.550(d), 8 AAC and 45.530(a). The seconded by Member Austin. The motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Next board meeting was scheduled for January 16, 2016.
- 5. Motion to adjourn was made by Member Hutchings at 4:55pm. Member Talbert seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Meeting Adjourned 4:56 pm