Workers' Compensation Board Meeting Minutes

January 15, 2016

Friday, January 15, 2016

I. Call to order

Workers' Compensation Director Marie Marx called the Board to order at 9:00 am on Friday, January 15, 2016, in Anchorage, Alaska.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

III. Roll call

Director Marx conducted roll call. The following Board members were present:

Stacy Allen Brad Austin Pamela Cline
Chuck Collins Jacob Howdeshell Linda Hutchings
Sarah Lefebvre Ron Nalikak Michael O'Connor

Amy Steele Mark Talbert Rick Traini Pat Vollendorf

Lake Williams

Member Dave Kester appeared telephonically. Members Robert Weel, Julie Duquette, and Donna Phillips were absent. Quorum was established.

Director Marx introduced senior staff present.

IV. Agenda Approval

The proposed agenda was approved unanimously.

V. Approval of Meeting Minutes

A motion to adopt the minutes from the October 29, 2015 regular Board Meeting was made by member Linda Hutchings and seconded by member Ron Nalikak. The minutes were revised to correct a typographical error and adopted without objection.

VI. <u>Director's Report</u>

- On January 5, 2016, in light of the State's continued fiscal challenge, Governor
 Walker commenced a hiring and travel restriction, applicable to all agencies
 under the Governor's jurisdiction. All State Boards and Commissions have been
 asked to comply with the foregoing travel restrictions, including to limiting
 travel to one in-person meeting per year and conducting other board meetings
 telephonically.
- Chief of Adjudications Amanda Eklund reviewed current division staffing and approval of new Board designees.
 - New designees include Henry Tashjian (Hearing Officer I). Member Linda Hutchings moved that the Board approve the amended list of Board

designees, which was seconded by member Sarah Lefebvre. There was no additional discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

VII. Old Business

- The Board met to consider making the adopted emergency fee schedule regulations permanent.
- A motion to make the adopted emergency fee schedule regulations at 8 AAC 45.082 permanent was made by member Linda Hutchings and seconded by member Chuck Collins.
- Director Marx called for the question. The Board voted and the motion passed unanimously.
- A motion to amend the language of the adopted emergency fee schedule regulations at 8 AAC 45.083, as presented at Tab 6 of the Board Packet, was made by member Sarah Lefebvre and seconded by member Pat Vollendorf.
- Director Marx called for the question. The Board voted and the motion passed unanimously.
- A motion to make permanent the adopted emergency fee schedule regulations at 8 AAC 45.083, as amended at the January 15, 2016 board meeting, was made by member Linda Hutchings and seconded by member Brad Austin.
- Director Marx called for the question. The Board voted and the motion passed unanimously.
- A motion to make the adopted emergency fee schedule regulations at 8 AAC 45.900(a) permanent was made by member Linda Hutchings and seconded by member Sarah Lefebvre.
- Director Marx called for the question. The Board voted and the motion passed unanimously.

Break 10:12 am - 10:29 am

VIII. New Business

- Member Chuck Collins disclosed he has recently become a licensed officer for Key Bank and stated on the record he cannot adjudicate any disputes before the board involving Key Bank employees or clients.
- The board proposed and discussed dates for its next two meetings and scheduled meetings on May 12 13, 2016 and October 6 7, 2016.

Break 10:52 am - 11:00 am

IX. Public Comment Period 11:00am- 12:00pm

- Kevin Barry CEO AK Surgery Center/AK Spine Center
- Becky Holtberg CEO AK State Hospital and Nursing Home Association
- Chad Saunders Workers' Compensation Committee of Alaska
- Charles McKee injured worker

Meeting Adjourned at 12:01 pm