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Case:  Richard Louie vs. B.P. Exploration (Alaska), Inc. and ACE USA, Alaska Workers’ 
Comp. App. Comm’n Dec. No. 180 (April 8, 2013) 

Facts:  In January 2000, Richard Louie (Louie) suffered a stroke while working for B.P. 
Exploration (Alaska), Inc. (B.P.) as a geophysicist.  The stroke resulted in his permanent 
and total disability.  In 2004, Louie and B.P. signed a partial compromise and release 
(C&R), resolving disputes related to physical, occupational, and speech therapy after 
March 1, 2004.  The agreement also acknowledged that Louie was not expected to 
return to work.  In October 2011, Louie sought a compensation rate adjustment.  B.P. 
conceded at hearing that had Louie not been injured, he would have remained 
employed and his annual earnings would have continued to rise, and that those 
increased earnings would have entitled him to the maximum compensation rate, had he 
been injured in any succeeding year. 

The board denied the adjustment, concluding that the version of AS 23.30.175(a) in 
effect at the time that Louie was injured applied and resulted in the maximum rate of 
$700 per week.  The board observed that when calculating compensation rates, the 
Alaska Supreme Court has consistently applied the law in effect at the time of injury, even 
though subsequent amendments to AS 23.30.220 increased the rates.  Louie would get a 
higher compensation rate only if the amended .175(a) “date of injury” meant the date 
of “disability due to injury,” assuming that Louie’s disability started after 
AS 23.30.175(a) was amended (six months after his date of injury).  Louie appeals. 

Applicable law:  At the time Louie was injured, AS 23.30.180(a) provided, “In case of 
total disability adjudged to be permanent 80 percent of the injured employee’s 
spendable weekly wages shall be paid to the employee during the continuance of the 
total disability.” 

AS 23.30.220(a) provided: 

(a)  Computation of compensation under this chapter shall be on the 
basis of an employee’s spendable weekly wage at the time of injury.  An 
employee’s spendable weekly wage is the employee’s gross weekly 
earnings minus payroll tax deductions.  An employee’s gross weekly 
earnings shall be calculated as follows: 

. . . . 

(3)  if at the time of injury the employee’s earnings are calculated 
by the year, the employee’s gross weekly earnings are the yearly 
earnings divided by 52; 

. . . .  

(10)  if an employee is entitled to compensation under AS 23.30.180 
and the board determines that calculation of the employee’s gross 
weekly earnings under (1) – (7) of this subsection does not fairly 
reflect the employee’s earnings during the period of disability, the 
board shall determine gross weekly earnings by considering the nature 
of the employee’s work, work history, and resulting disability, but 
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compensation calculated under this paragraph may not exceed the 
employee’s gross weekly earnings at the time of injury. 

AS 23.30.175(a) provided that “The weekly rate of compensation for disability or death 
may not exceed $700[.]” 

Effective July 1, 2000, this statute was amended to read in relevant part:  “The weekly 
rate of compensation for disability or death may not exceed the maximum 
compensation rate. . . .  In this subsection, “maximum compensation rate” means 120 
percent of the average weekly wage, calculated under (d) of this section, applicable on 
the date of injury of the employee.” 

Effective July 1, 2000, AS 23.30.175(d) provides that “By December 1 of each year, the 
commissioner shall determine the average weekly wage in this state by dividing the 
average annual wage in this state for the preceding calendar year by 52.” 

Issue:  Is Louie’s compensation rate (1) the maximum of $700, the version of 
AS 23.30.175(a) in effect at the time of his injury, or (2) the applicable maximum in a 
given year provided for in the version of subsection .175(a) in effect at the time the 
C&R was executed in 2004, when Louie arguably was “disabled due to injury”? 

Holding/analysis:  The commission concluded that no matter which subsection of 
.220(a) is used to calculate Louie’s gross weekly earnings, he would still be subject to the 
maximum compensation rate in .175(a).  Moreover, the maximum rate of $700 applies to 
Louie’s injury because he was injured before July 1, 2000, and maximum compensation 
rate increases have never been applied retroactively.  This analysis mooted the argument 
that the commission should construe “the date of injury” in the amended AS 23.30.175(a) 
as the date of “disability due to injury.”  The commission observed that “[t]he harsh 
reality is, given Louie’s actual or predicted income levels, there is a huge disparity 
between Louie’s compensation rate, no matter which version of AS 23.30.175(a) is 
applied, and whatever his income was or might be.”  Dec. No. 180 at 12. 

Note:  The Alaska Supreme Court affirmed the commission’s decision, Louie v. BP 
Exploration (Alaska), Inc., Op. No. 6914 (June 13, 2014). 


