PERA JURISDICTION *

COVERED

- Bering Straits Regional Housing Authority
- Bristol Bay Borough
- City and Borough of Haines
- City of Bethel
- City of Cordova
- City of Dillingham
- City of Fairbanks
- City of Hoonah
- City of Kodiak
- City of Nenana
- City of Nome
- Petersburg Borough (Previously City of Petersburg)
- City of Seldovia
- City of Seward
- City of Wasilla
- City of Whittier
- City of Wrangell
- City and Borough of Wrangell
- City of Unalaska
- Cordova Community Hospital
- Denali Borough
- Fairbanks North Star Borough
- Interior Regional Housing Authority
- Ketchikan Gateway Borough
- Kodiak Island Borough
- Nome Joint Utility System
- Petersburg Medical Center
- Thomas Bay Power Authority

OPTED-OUT

- City and Borough of Juneau
- City and Borough of Sitka
- City of Homer
- City of Ketchikan
- City of Kotzebue
- City of Nenana
- City of North Pole
- City of Palmer
- City of Soldotna
- Kenai Peninsula Borough
- Mat-Su Borough
- Municipality of Anchorage
- North Slope Borough
- City of Valdez

*Political subdivisions may have opted out of PERA. As there is no requirement for a political subdivision or an organized borough to report the adoption of an ordinance or resolution rejecting PERA, the Agency only becomes aware of the status of a political subdivision when the issue is raised. Therefore, this list may be incomplete and may include inaccuracies.

Sec. 23.40.255. Applicability to political subdivisions, including school districts.

- (a) AS 23.40.070 23.40.260 is applicable to organized boroughs and political subdivisions of the state, home rule or otherwise, unless the legislative body of the political subdivision, by ordinance or resolution, rejects having the provisions of AS 23.40.070 23.40.260 apply.
- (b) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, a municipal school district or regional educational attendance area may not reject application of AS 23.40.070 23.40.260 to employment relations with public school employees.