Workers' Compensation Special Investigations Unit
Rhonda Gerharz, Investigator IV
Request Alaska Workers’ Compensation Workshop
Industry associations, government agencies, and large organizations are encouraged to schedule personalized onsite workers’ compensation workshops by contacting the Special Investigations Unit Chief Investigator at (907) 269-4002.
All businesses using employee labor in the State of Alaska are required to purchase and maintain workers’ compensation insurance. There are no exceptions for number of employees, length of time employee labor is used in Alaska, or for family members or friends working for the business.
Workers’ compensation insurance must be bound in the State of Alaska regardless of the home state or country of the business and regardless of the residency status of workers. Alaska does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states or countries. All employers must insure their exposure under the Act. This includes an out-of-state employer with employees working in Alaska, whether those employees are principally located in Alaska or outside this state. Under AS 23.30.025(a), an insurer issuing a policy of insurance covering benefits under the Act must be an admitted insurer in Alaska, licensed by the Alaska Division of Insurance, which administers AS 21, Alaska’s insurance code. For questions regarding insurance licensing, rates, or policies, please contact the Division of Insurance at (907) 465-2515.
Employers can be assessed penalties up to $1,000 per employee for each day they remain uninsured, and a mandatory $1,000 per day for violating stop work orders. Please see the workers’ compensation insurance for employers page for additional information.
If you suspect an employer is uninsured, please contact the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division Special Investigations Unit at (907) 269-4002 or toll free at (888) 372-8330, or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. You may remain anonymous if requested.
How do I report fraud?
Contact the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division Special Investigations Unit or the insurance carrier as soon as possible if you:
- Suspect any business using employee labor is not insured;
- Are an employee who is unsure whether your employer has coverage;
- Know an employer that is:
- misclassifying employees as independent contractors to avoid workers’ compensation premiums;
- underreporting payroll to avoid workers’ compensation premiums;
- deducting workers’ compensation premiums from employee wages, or forcing employees to pay any part of premiums;
- requiring employees to “waive” workers’ compensation benefits either verbally or in writing; or
- refusing to file a report of occupational injury with their insurer or the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division;
- Know an individual who is:
- secretly working another job while currently receiving workers’ compensation benefits;
- selling prescription medications received due to a workers’ compensation claim;
- claiming an injury is work-related when it occurred elsewhere;
- participating in activities from which they are specifically restricted as part of their workers’ compensation claim; or
- falsifying injury expense reports; or
- Know a care provider that is fraudulently billing a workers’ compensation insurer for treatment, services, or supplies not provided.
The workers’ compensation fraud hotline is open Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The number to call is: 1-888-372-8330