
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) 

$600.00 Stimulus Payment Q&A 
 

FPUC will pay $600 per week to individuals who are eligible to receive weekly Unemployment Insurance 

(UI) benefits from a state or federal program. To be eligible for this weekly $600 stimulus payment, an 

individual must be eligible to receive UI benefits from a state or federal program each week.  

There have been many questions about this $600 payment from individuals who have recently filed for 

UI benefits. We hope this Q&A answers many of those questions and gives you a better understanding 

of who is eligible to receive this $600 payment. We appreciate everyone’s patience while we work on 

the necessary programming to pay benefits to eligible individuals. 

 

Q: When does the $600 FPUC payment begin? How long will the payment be available? 

A: March 29, 2020 through July 25, 2020. 

Q: What is the $600 payment? 

A: The $600 FPUC payment is a federal stimulus that is added to a week of benefits. As long as you’re 

eligible to receive a week of UI benefits from a state or federal program, the $600 will be added to your 

benefit payment each week you are eligible through July 25, 2020. 

Q: What do you mean by UI benefits from a state or federal program? 

A: If you file a UI application with Alaska and are eligible for regular UI benefits, you are considered to be 

filing for regular state UI benefits. The CARES Act included Federal UI benefit programs for individuals 

who may not be eligible for regular state UI benefits. Because the goal is to try and help all unemployed 

or partially employed individuals that are no longer working or had their hours reduced due to COVID-

19, regardless of what program they are eligible to receive benefits from, the $600 stimulus payment is 

paid in addition to those UI benefits. 

Q: When will the $600.00 payment be available from Alaska? 

A: Programming is in place to start releasing the $600 additional payment beginning April 13, 2020. The 

Federal Government has made the $600 payment available to claimants filing with Alaska beginning the 

week ending April 4, 2020. 

Q: Does the Federal Government mail the $600 to me? 

A: No. The $600 is added on to your weekly benefit amount. If you are eligible for a week of UI benefits 

from a state or federal program you will receive your determined weekly benefit amount plus $600 by 

direct deposit or the UI KeyBank debit card depending on the method of payment you chose when you 

filed your claim. 

 

Q: What do I have to do to receive the $600 payment each week I am unemployed or partially 

employed due to COVID-19? 



A: First, you must have filed a UI claim and be eligible for a state or federal UI program. Second, you 

must file weekly certifications each week you are unemployed or partially employed. Filing a weekly 

certification is how you request a payment. After you file your weekly certification your eligibility for the 

week will be reviewed, if you are eligible for a UI benefit payment from a state or federal program for 

the week you will also receive the additional $600 payment. 

Q: Is this $600 stimulus payment taxable? 

A: Yes. When you filed your claim, you were asked if you wanted 10% withheld from your benefits for 

the IRS. Taxes will be withheld if you chose “Yes.” If you chose “No,” taxes will not be withheld, you will 

be mailed a 1099 in January 2021 and you will be responsible for paying any taxes owed when you file 

your tax return.  

Q: If I have already filed when should I expect to receive the $600 payment?  

A: If you are eligible for a week of UI benefits from a state or federal program, it will take up to 3 

business days to receive the additional $600 by direct deposit or deposited onto the UI KeyBank debit 

card. In some circumstances, a paper check may be mailed, which could take up to 7 business days 

depending on your location. 

Q: I have been filing since January, 2020. Will I receive the $600 for all those past weeks? 

A: No. The $600 stimulus payment begins the week ending April 4, 2020 according to Federal law.  
 
Q: How do I know if I am eligible for the $600 payment? 

A: If you are eligible to receive UI benefits from a state or federal program during a week, you are 

eligible for the $600 payment during that week. When you file a certification requesting benefits each 

week, your certification is reviewed and if you are eligible to receive a UI benefit from a state or federal 

program the $600 will be added to your benefit payment.  

Q: Will I receive the $600 payment if I was denied UI benefits from a state or federal program during a 

week. 

A: No. You must be eligible to receive a UI benefit payment from a state or federal program during a 

week to be eligible for the $600 payment. 

Q: I am working part-time or on-call because of COVID-19. Will I be eligible to receive this $600 

payment? 

A: If you file for a week of UI benefits from a state or federal program you are required to report your 

hours and earnings during the week. If you are eligible to receive UI benefits for the week, the $600 will 

be added to your determined weekly benefit amount.  

 

 

Q: I was laid off, but I expect to be hired back soon after COVID-19. Will I be eligible to receive this 

$600 payment? 



A: If you file and are eligible to receive UI benefits from a state or federal program during a week, the 

$600 will be added to your determined weekly benefit amount. 

Q: If I report earnings from working part-time or on-call, will the $600 payment be reduced? 

A: No. The $600 payment is not reduced however your state or federal UI benefit may be reduced. 

Q: If I report earnings from working part-time or on-call during a week, will my state or federal UI 

benefit amount be reduced? 

A: Yes. The UI Claimant Handbook explains this on page 10. The handbook is available online using this 

link: Alaska UI Claimant Handbook 

Q: If my reported earnings for the week reduce my State or Federal UI benefit amount to zero, will I 

still receive the $600 payment? 

A: No. The requirement is that you must be eligible to receive UI benefits from a state or federal 

program to receive the $600 stimulus payment. It is extremely important to correctly report your 

earnings each week to prevent overpayments. 

Q: I started filing for UI benefits when I became unemployed back in December of 2019, long before 

COVID-19 started. Will I be eligible for the $600 payment? 

A: The first eligible week for the $600 payment is the week ending April 4, 2020. If you are eligible to 

receive UI benefits from a state or federal program for any week you file for between the week ending 

April 4, 2020 and July 25, 2020 you will receive the $600 payment for each eligible week. The $600 

payment cannot be paid for any weeks prior to March 29, 2020 or after July 25, 2020 according to 

federal law. 

 

https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/documents/uihandbook.pdf

