Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) Q&A

On March 27, 2020 President Trump signed into law what is known as the “Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and
Economic Security Act” or the “CARES Act” which included the PEUC program. PEUC provides up to 13
weeks of additional Ul benefits to eligible individuals who have exhausted their rights to benefits for a
regular state Ul claim. PEUC is available beginning March 29, 2020 and ending December 26, 2020.

Q: When will PEUC be available?
A: Alaska Ul claim centers will be able to start taking PEUC applications beginning May 4, 2020.
Q: What does “exhausted rights to benefits” mean?

A: Exhausted rights to benefits means that you have received all of the Ul money that you were entitled
to receive on your most current benefit year or your current benefit year has ended. For example: If you
filed a regular state Ul claim and were eligible to receive 20 weeks of benefits and have received all 20
weeks of benefits you are considered to have exhausted rights to benefits on the claim because your
benefit balance would be zero, or if your benefit year ended, you are considered to have exhausted your
rights to benefits because you no longer have an active claim.

Q: How do | know if | am eligible to apply for PEUC?

A: If you have an active benefit year and have exhausted your rights to benefits for regular Ul or your
benefit year has ended July 6, 2019 or later, you will automatically receive a notification in the mail with
instructions and a phone number to call to apply for PEUC. There also will be a press release once PEUC
is available.

Q: What will my benefit amount be for PEUC if | am eligible?

A: You will receive the same weekly benefit amount as you did on the benefit year claim that PEUC will
be attached to. For example: If you were eligible for $370 per week on your prior claim you will be
eligible for $S370 per week if you are eligible for PEUC.

Q: Do | receive additional benefits for my dependents with PEUC?

A: Yes, if you are eligible for a week of PEUC, you will also receive the same dependent allowance you
received on your prior or current benefit year claim. You will not be able to add any additional
dependents to PEUC.

Q: My regular state Ul benefits exhausted in February 2020. Will | receive PEUC for past weeks?

A: No. The first week Alaska is able to begin paying PEUC is the week ending April 4, 2020, according to
federal law.

Q: | already filed for the week ending April 4, 2020. Will the PEUC be retroactive to the week ending
April 4, 2020?

A: Yes.
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Q: How do | receive the PEUC payment if | am eligible?

A: By direct deposit or Ul debit card. You will have the option to set up direct deposit into your checking
or savings account. If you don’t set up direct deposit, you will be mailed a Ul debit card. You will be able
to verify your method of payment when you call to apply for PEUC.

Q: Is the PEUC payment taxable?

A: Yes. When you apply for PEUC you will be asked if you want 10% withheld from your benefits for the
IRS. Taxes will be withheld if you chose “Yes.” If you chose “No,” taxes will not be withheld. You will be
mailed a 1099 in January 2021, and you will be responsible for paying any taxes owed when you file your
tax return.

Q: If | am eligible for a PEUC payment during a week, will | also receive the $600 FPUC payment?
A: Yes.
Q: If I am denied PEUC during a week, will I still receive the $600 FPUC payment for that week?

A: No. You must be eligible to receive a PEUC payment or payment from another state or federal Ul
program during a week to be eligible for the S600 FPUC payment.

Q: | believe | have exhausted my regular state Ul claim. | am currently working part-time or on-call
because of COVID-19. Will I be eligible to receive PEUC?

A: Working part-time or on-call does not automatically disqualify you from receiving PEUC. You will be
required to report your hours and earnings during each week you file for PEUC. Your PEUC benefit
amount may be reduced.

Q: If | report earnings from working part-time or on-call during a week will my PEUC benefit amount
be reduced?

A: Yes. The Ul Claimant Handbook explains this on page 10. Earnings are deducted from a week of PEUC
the same as a week of regular state Ul. The handbook is available online using this link: Alaska Ul
Claimant Handbook

Q: If my reported earnings for the week reduce my PEUC amount to zero, will | still receive the $600
FPUC payment?

A: No. The FPUC requirement is that you must be eligible to receive Ul benefits from a state or federal
program to receive the additional $600 stimulus payment. It is extremely important to correctly report
your earnings each week to prevent overpayments.

Q: Do | have to register for work by posting a resume in ALEXsys and provide work search contacts
while filing for PEUC?

A: Yes, PEUC is a federal program with specific eligibility requirements. To be eligible for PEUC, you will
be required to register for work and provide work search contacts. If you are unable to register or search
for work specifically due to a COVID-19-related reason, you will need to explain your circumstances
when you apply for PEUC.
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