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Questions about
your rate, account
or contributions?

CONTACTS

Juneau Central Office
P.O. Box 115509

Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Phone: (907) 465-2757

Toll free: (888) 448-3527
Fax: (907) 465-2374
Email: ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov
Relay Alaska: (800) 770-8973

FIELD TAX OFFICES
Anchorage

P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767
Phone: (907) 269-4850
Fax: (907) 269-4845

Fairbanks

675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595
Phone: (907) 451-2876
Fax: (907) 451-2883

Juneau

P.0. Box 115509
Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Phone: (907) 465-2787
Fax: (907) 465-2374

Kenai

145 Main Street Loop,
Suite 143, Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: (907) 283-0350
Fax: (907) 283-5152

Mat-Su

877 Commercial Drive
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937
Phone: (907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 352-2581

UI Tax Representative
Toll free: (888) 448-2937

Subscribe to receive your Tax
Newsletter online

To receive your newsletter electronically, subscribe at: service.
govdelivery.com/accounts/AKDOL/subscriber/
new?preferences=true.Newsletters are available on the
Unemployment Insurance (UI) Tax home page (labor.alaska.gov/
estax/home.htm) under Quick Links.

Penalty rates are expensive and
preventable

For 2019, the maximum amount an industry or experienced-rated
employer would pay is $510.72 per employee in UI Tax contributions.

Penalty rates were assigned to 144 employers in 2019 making them
liable up to $2,154.60 per employee — more than four times the
amount of an industry or experience-rated employer.

To prevent receiving a 2020 penalty rate, ensure all of your reports
and payments are on file with us. Do not ignore the telephone calls
and notices regarding a missing report and/or payment. Contact
any of the offices listed in this newsletter to:

e Confirm reports and e Assist with the completion of
payments are posted correctly our forms; or
to your account or to your e Establish deferred payment
predecessor’s account; contracts.

Using contract labor

A Tax Clearance is needed for any subcontracted individual or
business prior to the final payment being issued. Doing this should
relieve your business of any liabilities due for unpaid taxes accrued
by subcontractor(s) while working on your project. Contact any
Field Tax office for assistance or go online to labor.alaska.
gov/estax/forms/toc_forms.htm for Tax Clearance Request
forms. For a list of bonded professionals, visit the Department of
Commerce, Community & Economic Development website:
commerce.alaska.gov/web.
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Are they really contract labor?

Did you issue a worker a 1099 for services within the usual course of your business or
services your business offers to the public? These payments might actually be wages and
need to be reported on your Alaska Quarterly Contribution report. If you are unsure, review
the "Do You Have Contract Labor" brochure (labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/contract.pdf).
You may also contact our Field Tax offices for further clarification.

Did you hire a replacement for
yourself while on leave?

Many healthcare facilities (doctors, dentists, etc.) hire other healthcare professionals to
work in their offices while they are out for an extended period of time. These temporary
healthcare professionals, whether considered "locum tenens" or independent practitioners,
may be considered employees. Locum tenens physicians are not unique to the Department
of Labor and have historically been considered employees. There are many facts that
determine if they need to be reported as employees. Contact your Field Tax office for
information on determining if those you hire to cover for you would be reportable.

Issuing checks outside of normal payroli

There are many reasons a check is issued outside of a normal payroll. When this occurs
these payments may not be reported on your Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report. Inform
your bookkeeper, accountant or CPA when this occurs to ensure any payments issued
outside of your normal payroll are reported correctly.

During several audits, it was discovered payroll advances are not being correctly reported.

Advances are considered wages per AS 23.20.530 and must be reported in the quarter in which
the advance was issued. If the advance is not paid back in the same quarter in which it was
issued, the reportable wages must be reduced in the quarter(s) in which the advance is paid back.

Regulation change

Effective July 19, 2019 — The Alaska Administration Code (AAC) 8 AAC 85.400(c)
is amended to read: "(c) An overpayment of less than $5 in employee or employer
contributions will not be refunded."

Third quarter reports and payments
are due by Oct. 31, 2019.

We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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