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Questions about
your account or
contributions?

Contacts

Juneau Central Office

1111 W. 8th St., Room 203

P.O. Box 115509

Juneau, AK 99811-5509

907.465.2757

Toll free 888.448.3527

Fax 907.465.2374

Email ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov

TDD-Relay Alaska Operator
800.770.8973

UI TAX OFFICES

Anchorage

3301 Eagle St., Room 106
P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767
907.269.4850

Fax 907.269.4845

Fairbanks

675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595
907.451.2876

Fax 907.451.2883

Juneau

1111 W. 8th St., Room 203
P.O. Box 115509

Juneau, AK 99811-5509
907.465.2787

Fax 907.465.2374

Kenai

11312 Kenai Spur Highway,
Suite 2

Kenai, AK 99611-9106
907.335.3020

Fax 907.283.5152

Wasilla

877 Commercial Drive
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937
907.352.2535

Fax 907.352.2581

UI Tax Representative
Toll free 888.448.2937

How are your UI Tax Rates Calculated?

All states have an experience rating system for calculation of
employer contribution rates. Alaska’s rating system is based on
quarterly wage declines. A decline in quarterly wages exists when
the amount of total wages you report reflects a decrease from one
quarter to the next.

For rate purposes, a quarterly decline quotient is calculated by

the percentage decrease in wages between quarters. All of your
quarterly decline quotients for qualifying quarters are added together
and this total is averaged. The experience rate you are assigned is
based on the average of all your quarterly decline quotients.

Alaska has three rate types in its rating system:

Experience-rated firms — Employers who qualify for experience
rating are those who:

¢ have been subject to the Alaska Employment Security Act for
four or more quarters; and

o filed all quarterly tax reports; and

¢ hold outstanding balances for contributions, interest and
penalties that total less than $100.

Industry-rated firms — Employers who do not have the wage
history to qualify for experience rating and are assigned an industry
average tax rate.

Penalty-rated firms — Employers who are delinquent in filing
quarterly reports, paying contributions, interest, or penalties due and
are assigned the maximum penalty rate.

2014 UI Tax Rates and Taxable Wage Base

The 2014 tax rate notices will be mailed in early December. The tax
notice will include the individual taxable wage base amount. If you
have questions regarding your rate notice, contact the Tax Central
Office in Juneau at esd.tax@alaska.gov, or 888.448.3527 or
907.465.2757.
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Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report

THE 2013 TAXABLE WAGE BASE FOR EACH EMPLOYEE IS $36,900.
Due date: 01/31/2014

Quarter ending: 12/31/2013

( Alaska employer
account number

Employer account no.: 9999999

Quarter end dates:
Mar 31, June 30, Sept 30,
Dec 31.

FEIN: 12-3456789

ABC CORP
9999 Brothers Avenu
Juneau, AK 99801

FEIN, Name and
address.

Taxable wages
(Reimbursable
accounts should be
zero excess and zero
taxable).

A report must be filed even if
the quarter.

You may now file your quarte

report online. Please visit our
labor.state.ak.us/estax or call 888.448.3527. To
amend your quarterly report, please submit a
“Correction of Wage Item,” Form TADJ, also
available online.

Notice to employers: Wage information and other
confidential UC information may be requested and
utilized for other authorized governmental purposes,
including, but not limited to, verification of an
individual’s eligibility for other government programs.

If none enter "0"
1. For each month, report the number < p” -
of workers who worked during or 1 2 3
received pay for the payroll period, | Month | Month | Month
which includes the 12 of the month.
1 1 1
2. Total reportable wages paid this
quarter. (See Instructions, page 2) $ 34,300.00
3. Less excess wages over the taxable ($ 200.00)
wage base. Total
excess
4, Taxable wages paid this quarter. | $ 34,100.0 wages
per
— . Employer's rate employee
W 100, | $341.00 | TP
Employer's rate wage
6. Employee's contribution $ 231.88 base
.68 % !
7. Total contributions due 1.68% ($57288 \___ J

8. Amount remitted

$ 572.88
; " Make

9. Wages reported to other states? See
instructions explaining this on page 2.

] Yes

sure
amount

matches
N

*See area map for geographic location codes

10. Employee's 11. Employee's name - type or print 12. Reportable wages 13. Full 14.
Social Security (Do not list employees more than once.) paid this quarter. occupational | Geographic
Number Last First MI (No negative wages) title or code | code *
S | 333224444 Doe, Jane 34,300.0 999999 76
TN
A O Total reportable wages
E . No wages this quarter L paid this quarter. )
E T A\} n”
[ Staple check here. ) ( Svr:alyefoRre Z::; ]
C No stubs please. J L ge Reporss. J
H 20
E )
c| PAY TO THE ;
K ORDER OF: Amount I.S
S Employment Security Tax, State of Alaska, Dept. of Labor $572.88— E?(;:E gs in
H DOLLARS
E AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE
R
g| PR reportable wages - all pages
— " wome total as in Block 2 above.)
you have any questions,
call toll free 888.448.3527. $34,300.00
I hereby certify that the information on this report is true and correct.
Signed: Authorize information by Title: Date:
Printed name: signing, dating and Contact telephone number: ( )

adding phone number.

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Employment Security Tax, P.O. Box 115506, Juneau, AK 99801-5506

TQO1C (10/13)
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Successor Employer Responsibilities

A successor is an employer who acquires substantially all or part of the operating assets
of an organization, trade or business. The successor may be held liable for employment
security taxes not paid by the previous owner (predecessor).
To ensure the predecessor’s debt is paid in full, Alaska Statue
23.20.260 requires the successor take the following actions:

1. The successor must register the business.

2. The successor should withhold enough purchase
money to cover the amount of taxes due until the
predecessor produces proof from Unemployment
Insurance (UI) Tax showing the taxes are paid in full.

If the successor fails to withhold purchase money as
required, and the taxes are not paid within 10 days, the
successor is liable for the payment of the predecessor’s
unpaid taxes.

3. The successor should consider the wages paid by the
predecessor when computing taxable wages for the
remainder of the calendar year in which the business
was acquired.

As with all employers, successors will receive a penalty
rate if, prior to the UI tax annual rating process, one of
the following two conditions exists on behalf of either the
predecessor or the successor:

1. The account has a balance due.

2. Quarterly report(s) are missing.

For additional information on successor/predecessor
responsibilities, contact your local field tax office
listed in this newsletter.

Please see opposite page on
how to fill out your Quarterly
Contribution Report.
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Using Employer Option Forms

By using the “Employer Option Form,” employers may be able to help equalize some
artificial quarterly payroll declines.

A decline in quarterly wages exists when the amount of total wages reported reflects a
decrease from one quarter to the next. Artificial payroll declines can be caused by: issuing
bonuses, biweekly payrolls, lump-sum payments or labor dispute settlements; changes to
accounting methods; or a payroll issued in a different quarter than usual. The greater the
decline in wages from one quarter to the next, the higher the employer tax rate may be.

Using the “Employer Option Form” may help stabilize payroll from one quarter to the next.
Stabilizing payroll may provide a more favorable tax rate.

For questions concerning the options available to employers, please call the local
Unemployment Insurance Tax office. Employer option forms are also available online at:
labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/toc_forms.htm.

Let us help you recruit and keep qualified staff!

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development can show you how the
Alaska Career Ready program, WorkKeys, and the National Career Readiness Certificate

(NCRC) can help save money in recruiting and training, plus ensure you
are getting the highest qualified applicants possible.

F’; WorkKeys is a job skills assessment system that measures real-world
foundational skills critical to job success. Individuals who take WorkKeys
assessments in Reading for Information, Applied Mathematics and
Locating Information can receive an NCRC. More than 28,000
Alaskans have earned all three levels. Hiring applicants who
hold a NCRC has proven to help reduce hiring costs, increase
productivity and decrease unnecessary turnovers.

Alaska Career Ready allows businesses to collaborate with
Alaska Job Center Business Connection at no cost.

For more information, visit:
jobs.state.ak.us/offices/index.html.

UPDATE YOUR ACCOUNT ONLINE

If you need to update your name, address, phone number or email on your Employment

Security Contribution account, go online: labor.alaska.gov/estax/home.htm.
Click on the "On-Line Employer Services" link to access and update your account.

Quarterly reports are due Jan. 31, 2014.

We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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