< Alaska Employer <

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Employment Security Tax Second Quarter 2000

Tony Knowles, Governor

Ed Flanagan, Commissioner Rebecca Gamez, Director

JUNEAU CENTRAL OFFICE

1111 W. Eighth Street

Rm. 203

PO Box 25509

Juneau, AK 99802-5509

(907) 465-2757

Toll Free 1-888-448-3527

FAX (907) 465-2374

Email: esd_tax@labor.state.ak.us

TDD - Relay Alaska Operator
1-800-770-8973

FIELD TAX OFFICES
Field Tax Representative
Toll Free 1-888-448-2937

Anchorage Field Tax

3301 Eagle St., Rm. 103
PO Box 92557

Anchorage, AK 99509-2557
(907) 269-4850

FAX (907) 269-4845

Fairbanks Field Tax

675 Seventh Ave.

Station L

Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595
(907) 451-2876

FAX (907) 451-2883

Juneau Field Tax

1111 W. Eighth St.,

Rm 203

PO Box 25509

Juneau, AK 99802-5509
(907) 465-2787

FAX (907) 465-2374

Kenai Field Tax

11312 Kenai Spur Hwy.,
Suite 2

Kenai, AK 99611-9106
(907) 283-4478

FAX (907) 283 -5152

Nome Field Tax

197 Front St., Rm 231
PO Box 1589

Nome, AK 99762-1589
(907) 443-3037

FAX (907) 443-3038

Wasilla Field Tax

877 Commercial Drive
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937
(907) 373-2682

FAX (907) 373-2683

Avoid a Penalty Rate for the Year 2001

The annual rating process will soon begin for the year 2001. As an employer,
you want to ensure the lowest possible rate for the coming year. The penalty
rate is the highest rate allowable -- 5.94% for this year, and there are three
situations that will cause you to be penalty rated for 2001:

1. Failure to pay unemployment insurance taxes, including
penalties and interest
If the balance on your employer account is $100 or more for the
quarter ending June 30, 2000, or any prior quarters, your account
will be assigned the penalty rate.

2. Failure to file reports
If you fail to file a report, ES Tax will file an estimated report for the
quarter. If you do not file a factual report to replace our estimated
report, the account will be penalty rated, even if you pay the amount
due on the estimated report.

3. Ifyour predecessor account owes $100 or more, the successor
account will receive a penalty rate.

Employers will be mailed a certified letter advising them that their account is
potentially delinquency rated for 2001, and will have the opportunity to cor-
rect their status prior to rates being set. The letter will be mailed the first of
October notifying employers that they have 10 days to clear up their account
delinquency.

If you have a balance due on your account, please contact your field auditor
at the toll-free telephone number listed. In some situations your auditor can
set up a deferred payment contract that will allow an experience rate in-
stead of a penalty rate for the year 2001.

Revised Tax Employer Handbook

The Alaska Employment Security Tax Handbook has been updated for
2000. The revised employer handbook is available online at:
www.labor. state.ak.us/estax/home.htm. You may obtain a hard copy of
the handbook by telephoning, mailing, or emailing your request to one of
the addresses to the left.
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Save Money: Employer Tax Credit Re-Authorized

Good news for employers! The federal Work Opportunity and Welfare to Work Tax Credit
(WOTC/W2W) programs have been extended and now go through December 31, 2001.

The WOTC and W2W programs offer tax credits to employers as an incentive to hire people in
targeted groups who traditionally have high unemployment rates. Both programs are designed to
help job seekers gain on-the-job experience and move toward economic self-sufficiency. For
employers the credits represent significant tax savings, and for jobseekers they mean not only jobs
but also new directions for their lives.

In Alaska, the program targets qualified individuals in the following groups:
+ Alaska Temporary Assistance Program (ATAP) recipients
Food stamp recipients (age 18-24)
Veterans (must be a member of a family that receives food stamps)
Ex-felons that are a member of a low-income family
Vocational rehabilitation referrals
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients
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Employers can find detailed information at www.labor.state.ak.us/wotc/wotc.htm or contact Jeanne
Wialker, WOTC Coordinator, in Juneau at (907)465-5953, email at jeanne_walker@labor.state.ak.us
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New Occupational Coding System

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development is revising its occupational coding
system. The new coding system will be six digits and will replace the four-digit occupational codes
currently used for reporting. Federal agencies are also adopting the six-digit codes, so an employer
will only need one occupational code for both state and federal reporting purposes.

The revised codes will reflect new occupations that have occurred in the last 20 years. Forexample,
the current system does not include many of today's jobs, such as database administrator, para-
medic, or aerobics instructor.

New codes will be mailed in September 2000, in time for your Alaska Employer Contribution Report
for the quarter ending September 30, 2000. The quarterly report will continue to have a write-in
space for an occupational title that you have difficulty coding.

Coding instructions and information will be available from the Research and Analysis website at
www.labor.state.ak.us/research/research/pub.htm or you may contact Research and Analysis at:

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Research and Analysis, Occupational Database Unit

P.O. Box 25513

Juneau Alaska 99802-5513

Voice: 800-478-2771 toll-free within Alaska

Or:  907-465-2771 collect outside Alaska

Fax: 800-325-9872 toll-free within Alaska or the continental U.S.
E-mail: odb@labor.state.ak.us

We are an equal opportunity employer/program
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities
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