State of Alaska > DOLWD > Labor
Standards & Safety > Wage and Hour Administration
KNOW YOUR RIGHTS--Ages 14 through 17
The CHILD LABOR LAWS protect your health and future welfare, and protect you from unsafe activities or exploitation while working.
Effective January 1, 2018, Alaska Minimum Wage is $9.84 per hour for all hours worked in a pay period, whether the work is measured by time, piece, commission or otherwise.
- Tips may not be used to satisfy the minimum hourly wage.
- Tips belong to the employee and may not be taken by the employer.
Youth under 14 may not work except in:
- Newspaper sales and delivery, babysitting, handiwork and domestic employment in or about private homes.
- The entertainment industry as a performer, subject to regulation by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.**
- All minors 14, 15, 16 years of age must have an approved work permit. Some employers may also require permits for 17 year olds under federal law.
- A new work permit must be obtained for each new job.
- If the duties approved on a work permit change, it may no longer be valid.
- A parent or legal guardian authorizes a minor to work. If they revoke this authorization the work permit becomes invalid.
Youth 14/15 Years of Age May Work:
- Only between the hours of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. (under State law)**
- No more than six days per week.
- A total of nine hours of school and work combined in one day.
- A total of 23 hours per week outside of school hours when school is in session (except for domestic work and babysitting).
- Up to eight hours a day and 40 hours a week (no overtime) during school breaks.
- May not work where alcoholic beverages are served.
Youth 16/17 years of Age May Work:
- No more than six days a week. (Some exemptions are allowed-call the nearest Wage and Hour Administration Office).
- No other time or day restrictions for this age employee.
Working Around Alcohol**
- Youth 16 and 17 years old may not be employed where alcohol is served unless the employer has the appropriate license from the Alcohol Beverage Control Board.
- Youth 16 and 17 years old must have an approved work permit to work on premises licensed to sell alcohol.
- An employee under 18 years of age who is scheduled to work six consecutive hours is entitled to a 30-minute break during the work day.**
- A youth under 18 who works five consecutive hours is entitled to a 30-minute break before continuing to work.
- An employer is not required by law to pay for Holidays, Sick Leave or Vacation. These benefits may be offered as fringe benefits by the employer.
- Employers may raise or reduce an employee's pay with proper written notice.
- An employee should keep records of the daily and weekly hours that he/she works.
- The employer must give employees written notice of their pay rate.
- An employee must receive a statement of earnings and deductions listing all deductions from his/her wages each pay day.
- An employee must be paid at least once a month.
- An employer may not make deductions for cash shortages.
- An employee is entitled to overtime if s/he works over eight hours in a day or 40 hours in a week.**
Back to Wage and Hour Administration